**Pilotage Authorities.** The Pilotage Act (SC 1971, c.52) established pilotage authorities for the Atlantic, Laurentian, Great Lakes and Pacific regions as proprietary corporations as specified in the Financial Administration Act. The objects of each authority are to establish, operate, maintain and administer in the interests of safety an efficient pilotage service within the region set out in respect of the authority. Each of the four authorities has a chairman and not more than six other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a term not exceeding 10 years. The pilotage authorities report to Parliament through the minister of transport.

**Post Office Department** (Canada Post). Administration and operation of the post office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1970, c.P-14) and under the postmaster general, comprises all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of the money-order service.

Department headquarters is in Ottawa, with regional headquarters in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver, and district offices in St. John's, Halifax, Saint John, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, North Bay, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver.

**Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration.** The Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA) was established in 1935 (RSC 1952, c.214) to help rehabilitate agricultural lands seriously affected by drought and soil drifting in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. It has developed 101 community pastures on 1.0 million hectares (2.5 million acres) of marginal and submarginal land and continues to operate 96 of them. It has also been responsible for construction of many large irrigation and water storage projects. PFRA has assisted technically or financially in construction of 135,000 dugouts, dams, wells and irrigation projects for on-farm water supplies. PFRA operates a tree nursery which each year distributes several million trees free to farmers for development of farm and field shelterbelts.

**Privacy Commissioner.** A member of the Canadian Human Rights Commission appointed by the minister of justice on the recommendation of the chief commissioner, acts as privacy commissioner. The office was established by the Canadian Human Rights Act (SC 1976-77, c.33) to receive, investigate and report on complaints from individuals who allege that they have not been accorded the rights stipulated in the Human Rights Act to which they are entitled; namely, the right of access to, correction of, or comment upon personal information about them in federal information banks. Every investigation by the privacy commissioner is conducted in private. The commissioner reports to Parliament through the minister of justice.

Privy Council Office. For administrative purposes, the office is regarded as a department of government for which the prime minister has responsibility as set forth in PC 1962-240. The clerk of the privy council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a deputy head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the public service. The authority of the office is in Sections 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, with the wartime development of Cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the clerk of the privy council was designated secretary to the Cabinet, and the Cabinet secretariat was brought into being in the Privy Council Office. Since 1946, the office has been further reorganized, developed and enlarged and certain of its administrative functions and those of the prime minister's office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization consists primarily of the Cabinet secretariat with two divisions reporting to the clerk of the privy council and secretary to the Cabinet: deputy secretary to the Cabinet (operations); and deputy secretary to the Cabinet (plans). Each division contains a number of secretariats that support the Cabinet and its committees. The secretariats prepare and circulate agenda and necessary documents to ministers, and record and circulate decisions. They communicate with government departments and agencies and provide advisory support for the prime minister. Other sections of the office advise the prime minister on senior appointments, constitutional matters, emergency and long-range planning, and the exercise of his prerogative to allocate responsibilities between ministers. Submissions to the Governor-in-Council are received, draft orders and regulations are prepared, approved orders are circulated and the federal statutory regulations are edited, registered and published in the *Canada Gazette*.

**Public Archives of Canada** (Public Archives Canada). The public archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1970, c.P-27) by the dominion archivist who has the rank of a deputy minister and reports to Parliament through the secretary of state. Its purpose is to assemble and make available a comprehensive collection of source material relating to the history of Canada. It also has broad responsibilities to promote efficiency and economy in the management of federal government records. The archives branch in the National Library and Archives Building is a centre for research on the development of Canada. In addition to selected records of the federal government, it possesses an extensive collection of private papers of individuals and societies, a map collection which is the most important of its kind in the country, and extensive collections of paintings, drawings, prints, photographs,